In The Night My Mind Runs Free

Staring up at storied skies,
endless stars to look through.
A thousand nights could be spent,
watching and guessing tales for every light,
the faint and strong alike.
And in my mind I’m weaving
figures across the blue black sky,
finding patterns in empty spaces
which aren’t empty,
but just too distant
to tell their message yet.
A whisper cracks the silent air
to point out a falling star,
and I wonder:
What days might be?
in the homes of these distant lights.
Do far off peoples swim and laugh
underneath these foreign stars?
Did they climb and strain,
and run and scrape, just like us?
Did they curse the clouds
and crash through waterfalls
then bathe in dirt and sand,
just like us?
Ours is named sun.
I wonder if those points of light
stare back this night
while crafting stories,
light years away.
I think of our story and smile.

Leave a comment